Good, Good Father

Today is Father’s Day, but by the time you read this it will have already passed.

Last summer I woke up on what I thought was an average Sunday morning, but I had the following Chris Tomlin lyrics stuck in my head: “You’re a good, good Father. It’s who You are, it’s who You are and I’m loved by You–it’s who I am.”

I didn’t know why I literally woke up with those lyrics in my head. And they wouldn’t go away either. It only took me 5 or 6 hours to realize it was Father’s Day. (I know I’m terrible for forgetting. I was away on a retreat and completely forgot.) But as soon as I realized what day it was, I just started laughing in awe. My heart wasn’t just singing “Good, Good, Father,” it was singing to a Good, Good Father. A Father that instilled His goodness, love and mercy in my heart on a normal Sunday morning when my feeble human mind had forgotten what day it was.

More than that it had reminded me how I was blessed with my father and grandfather here on earth, and another grandfather who got to be with our Father in Heaven. How lucky is he.

Two weeks later I attended a mission trip where some spiritual exercise was much needed and thankfully found. During adoration we were encouraged to write letters to ourselves. As I was writing mine, the band playing the worship music had paused for a break. When I started to write down the reminder that I have a Good, Good Father who never forgets me, that very song began playing as the letters flowed out of my pen. Just another affirmation that the Father is indeed Good, in case I was having any doubts.

This Father’s Day falls on Corpus Christi Sunday. How fitting. In celebration of the body and blood of Christ, we are forced to acknowledge the greatest sacrifice–and the greatest gift–a Father could ever give: that of His son, the Redeemer of the world. The gift of unending grace and mercy poured out for us sinners, and the promise of paradise to the faithful–a place where we can reunite with our earthly fathers and be forever in the presence of our Heavenly Father. Just take a moment and ponder that. Really. It just might change your life.

Happy Father’s Day to my Dad and my grandfathers, one in heaven and one on earth. I love you all dearly.

 

Leave a Reply

