This Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving I am extra grateful for what God has placed in my life. Why? Well, because you know that saying that goes something like: “You never know how lucky you are to have something until it’s gone?” Well that is the darn truth.

This year has been hectic, but good. In fact it has been great. I graduated high school, started college, and have been blessed with so many new and holy people, amazing opportunities, early success, and a deeper appreciation of what I have been given by God.

Blessings come in all shapes and sizes. Sometimes they’re big and sometimes they’re small. And sometimes they’re painful but they are always good. Good.

I went through some painful times this last year, whether it be losing a grandparent or a best friend, or not getting my way when I was too stubborn to see God’s better plan for me. But in all honesty I wold not change a single thing about this past year. I have grown so much as a person and in my faith that I would never want to turn back.

Starting college has given me a whole new perspective– and appreciation–for what I have had all my life and have taken for granted–like my own bed, clean shower, homemade food, and a cozy home nestled in the heart of a beautiful hometown which I had always sworn I’d never miss.

But on a more serious note I am especially grateful for my my parents who have done so much for me. Whether supporting me on the sidelines, in the classroom, financially, or as their youngest daughter, they have always been there for me and I could never thank them enough. I never realized how much I depended on them until I came to school and did laundry for the first time without adding detergent, and then realizing that I cannot fit three loads of washed clothes into one dryer if I want dry clothes. Yeah, that’s right. I may have graduated high school with a 4.25 but I just now learned how to do laundry. Go ahead and laugh.

I am also especially grateful for my sisters. We have grown so close throughout the last four years and the fact that we are now all separated breaks my heart and makes me wish I was 10 years old again. While I am now used to being away from my older sister for long periods of time, it is the first time me and my twin sister have been separated. It stinks that I have to call her on the phone to tell her jokes and little things that I would normally just turn my head to tell her. But we all have to grow up. We have to start living our own lives. Making our own friends. Making our own story. Step out of our comfort zone. But I sure am thankful for all the times we thought we’d kill each other cause we’d been attached at the hip for eighteen years.

I also have grown an even deeper appreciation for my grandparents. I simply hate being away from them, but when I am with them now it makes the time spent all-the-more special. I am truly blessed to have known all of my grandparents and have a great relationship with them all.

Finally I am thankful for Franciscan University–an absolutely wonderful place which has provided me with great friends, teammates, coaches, professors, a challenging and fulfilling education, and a holy atmosphere in which my faith has grown tremendously in these past three months.

God is real and God is Good. He provides us with abundant blessings.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

One thought on “This Thanksgiving

  1. I am thankful for you, my sweet Ashley Rose, and your sisters. Your father and I couldn’t be more proud of all of you. God Bless you on this Thanksgiving and the many more to come. I love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

